Naar topnavigatiemenu Naar hoofdnavigatiemenu Naar hoofdinhoud
Profile picture of Mathilde Richard
Principal Investigator

Dr. M. (Mathilde) Richard


Assistant Professor

  • Department
  • Viroscience



Mathilde Richard (1985) is a molecular virologist. She completed her PhD in 2010 in France under the supervision of Prof. Bruno Lina with a dissertation on resistance of influenza A viruses to neuraminidase inhibitors. She then integrated the department of Viroscience for her post-doctoral studies, which have focused on the pathogenesis, virulence and transmissibility of influenza A viruses, with special emphasis on genetic and phenotypic viral factors involved in the emergence of new pandemics. On this thematic, she was involved in European projects (Antigone, Aditec, Emperie and Compare)

Current research

The research of her team focusses on the antigenic evolution of H5 highly pathogenic avian influenza viruses and the development of new vaccination strategies to cope with antigenic diversity in the context of pandemic preparedness.

Field(s) of expertise

Molecular Biology and Evolution

What research group(s) or lab(s) do you participate in?

Molecular Biology and Evolution


Teaching activities

Mathilde Richard has been teaching master students of the ErasmsusMC Rotterdam since 2016. Moreover, she has been organizing a yearly course on Infection and Host responses at the ErasmusMC Postgraduate School Molecular Medicine since 2015. Furthermore, Mathilde Richard provided lectures for BSc students at the University of Lyon (2007-2010) and at the Erasmus University College Rotterdam (2014-2015). In the last years, she supervised several BSc and MSc students. She is currently co-supervising two PhD students.

Other positions

Coordinator for the NIH/NIAID Center of Excellence for Influenza Research (US) for the group of Prof. Ron Fouchier

Scholarships, grants, and awards

Mathilde Richard obtained funding from the from the NIH/NIAID Center of Excellence for Influenza Research (US) and from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation program under DELTA-FLU (grant agreement No 727922).


• Dr. Sascha Trapp (University of Tours, France)
• Dr. Kirsty Short (University of Queensland, Australia)
• Prof. Nynke Dekker (Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands)
• Dr. Aartjan te Velthuis (University of Cambridge, UK)
• Dr. Anice Lowen (Emory University of School of Medicine, USA)

My Groups